Borish Scholars Program

Awarding excellence through the Borish Scholars Program

The Borish Scholars Program was created in 2015 and named in honor of the legendary clinician-scientist, Dr. Irv Borish, one of the founding members of the Indiana University School of Optometry.

Scholars are invited to give a lecture at Indiana University, typically occuring during the weekly Oxyopia Vision Science Seminar. Individual and group interaction with faculty and students also is an emphasis during the visit. Travel expenses and honorarium are provided.


Borish Distinguished Scholars are nominated by IU School of Optometry faculty and chosen by the Borish Scholars Selection Committee.

Scholars are selected based on their history of providing major research and scholarly contributions related to vision, patient care, clinical research, and of interest to Indiana University’s mission and education. Up to six scholars are selected each year.